Poem of the Week: Autumn’s Here!

Autumn’s Here!
September 9, 2017

Sound the bells, my friend.
Summer’s come to an end.
Autumn’s here,
And time is near
To see what’s ‘round the bend.

A new year of school’s begun
For learners both old and young.
So much they’ve to learn.
Hopefully, they shan’t burn
Out ‘fore the school year’s done.

A new season’s begun for TV
With so many programs to see
With brand new seasons
For this or that reason
As well as shows yet to be.

So many new sights to see, too,
At festivals and markets near you
That not summer nor spring
Could hope to bring,
But when Autumn falls…sacrebleu!

Pumpkins, gourds, squashes…oh, my!
So many treats for the eye
In addition to leaves
Drifting down as they please,
Lest the wind blows them ‘cross the sky.

Let’s not forget, either, the food
To put our taste buds in the mood:
Apples, cinnamon, spice,
Carmel corn—it’s all nice,
For as I eat it, how can I brood?

Thing is, too, in a matter of weeks,
The one day meant for spirits and freaks
And monsters of all kinds
Is bound to unwind
As Halloween time once more peeks

‘Round the bend to greet us with a “Boo!”
And sends us searching for new
Costumes to wear
And treats to bear
To make youngsters go “Ah!” and “Ooh!”

A month or so later, Thanksgiving:
A true celebration of living—
Parades, football, feasts,
And not to say the least,
Family there to share in the giving.

So many are autumn’s joys
For all men, women, girls, and boys,
Should they but slow down
And travel ‘round town
To drink them all in and enjoy.

Alas, though, so wrapped up are most
Folks who claim to not boast
Any time to partake
In these things in the wake
Of the season ‘fore it becomes a ghost.

It really is a shame,
For according to the season’s game,
Autumn comes once a year
For but three months, dear,
‘Fore it fades away again. How lame!

Well, I sure know for a fact
That when autumn comes, I don’t slack
In taking in its gifts
In hopes that they lift
Me out of my mood when it’s black,

For if annual it must be,
Then why cheat myself of such beauty?
I could never forgive
Myself, should I live
To deny such a gift to me,

Which is why each year during this time,
I pause to take in the sublime
And escape from my hive
And thank God I’m alive,
Even if it’s but for a short time.

Such is how I feel when autumn comes
‘Til my eyes, ears, and tongue go numb.
It’s an annual thing,
So let the good times ring
‘Til the season’s at long last done.

P.S.: The pic used above comes courtesy of CanadianMusicHallofFame.ca. The attached poem, however, is the author’s own.

*****

Author Pages: Smashwords.com
                         Amazon.com
                         Amazon.co.uk

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.