Poem of the Week: Spark within Silence

Spark within Silence
February 6, 2013

So I’m sitting on the couch, bottled water in my hand,
Feet propped up on a footstool as my brain pans
To whatever thoughts come up, nothing specific in mind,
But soon I come to realize just how nice it is to unwind
After a hard day’s work, sitting for hours at a time
And trying to think of something to post on this blog of mine
Or fleshing out the next chapter of the book I’m working on
Or even coming up with lyrics for a brand new song.
After all, even I can’t write every hour I’m awake,
For trying to do so exhausts me and reminds me to take a break,
And as my mind takes it easy, it wanders leisurely
From thought to random thought, feeling free as it can be,
And via its random roaming, many topics arise
For new material to write, appearing right before my eyes
As though I’m noticing them all for the first time in years.
In fact, why don’t I give you a list of such topics right here?
Painful and pleasant childhood and adolescent memories,
Buccaneers’ adventures across the endless seas,
Knights and goblins, ninjas and demons, wizards and ghosts,
Alien mindbenders and their human hosts,
Psychics, vampires, werewolves, and Lovecraftian monsters galore,
Lords and legions caught up in an eternal war,
Political corruption running ever so amok,
Music, TV shows, and movies that utterly suck,
The vile and the wicked amongst us getting what they so deserve—
So many are the topics that I’d like to serve
Unto the mindful masses in literary form,
And whether they make my readers feel all fuzzy and warm
And full of all kinds of contentment and happiness
Or alarmed with so much fear, rage, and even distress
That they rise up and do something to right all the wrongs
Of society before it sings its swan song,
So long as my work makes people think and feel
And I make my mark in this world—that’s my deal.
After all, I’ve got too much ambition in me to be
Just another run-of-the-mill, faceless wannabe
Whose name ends up fluttering away upon the winds of time,
So guess what: Enough of this daydreaming of mine!
It’s time to stand back up and make this dream a reality
And show the whole world just exactly what I can be
Within the oh-so-competitive realm of the written word.
Please excuse me, then, everyone, or I need to be heard
Now that I have so many ideas floating ‘round in my head
And as such, at long last, something that simply needs to be said.

*****

To find out more about my work, please visit my author pages at Smashwords.com, Amazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk to see what books I have available for sale. In the meantime, thank you for checking in with me this week, and feel free to come on back next week for another new poem of mine. Until then, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.