Poem of the Week: Square Peg

Square Peg
February 6, 2017

Square peg, square peg, what do you see?
I see a round hole staring back at me—
A hole so round like so many more before
Into which I’ve tried to fit ‘til I could take it no more,
For every time I’ve tried, I’d learned the hard way
Why I didn’t belong there, and it’s really hard to say
Why it’s taken me so long to even try to find
A spot to call my own and leave my worries behind.
Worse yet, I know not how much longer I can take
Going through the paces and being lost in the wake
Of other people’s success when I, time and again,
Have failed to find my niche and make all right in the end.
What is it that I’m doing wrong? Where is it that I must go
To finally overcome all my frustration and woe?
What is it I must do to finally prove to the world
That I’m actually worth as much as any other boy or girl
Or woman or man walking beneath Heaven’s balmy sky?
Will I ever find true happiness at all before I die?
Will it ever turn out that I can at last be happy with life,
Or am I doomed to forever live in pain and strife?
Either way, I’m growing tired of poking around
And figuring out where I fit all snug, safe, and sound.
I’ll keep on trying, however, al the same in vain hope,
Even though my journey’s already sent me to the end of my rope.
“A place for everything,” after all, “and everything in its place,”
And I refuse to be known as a sad, pitiful disgrace
Who enjoys sitting on his haunches wallowing in self-pity,
Especially when I’ve still a chance to end up in the big city
And relish the rest of my life in paradise and luxury.
Now that’s the kind of life I’d like to live, you see.
Until then, though, I’m stuck here wondering what I should do
To at last escape this hell and make my dreams come true,
And only time will tell if things go ne way or another.
Either way, keep your fingers crossed for me, sisters and brothers,
For this square peg, one way or another, is set to fit
Somewhere on this peg board ‘cause I can’t afford to quit.

*****

Author Pages: Smashwords.com
                         Amazon.com
                         Amazon.co.uk

Leave a Reply

