Hoedown of the Week: Goodbye, 2015/Hello, 2016

Happy 2016, readers!

This past Monday, I announced a new segment on my blog that I’d like to start up to honor the new year and to get anyone who visits this site more involved with its content. For more information on the rules for suggesting a new weekly hoedown, please click the first three words in this paragraph to be taken to the original announcement. Otherwise, please carry on to read an example of the kind of poem I’m talking about.

*****

Goodbye, 2015/Hello, 2016
December 29, 2015

With every New Year’s Day comes a lot of hope,
But for so many years now, that hope’s gone up in smoke,
And each promise we’ve been fed has gone down the crapper,
But hopefully 2016 will leave us all feeling much dapper.

Well, I’m not going to lie to you. 2015 sucked.
For me, it was a year of middle fingers and “Best of lucks,”
But hopefully 2016, I’ll escape this wretched shame,
And my detractors will be the ones to play the crying game.

I so hated this year. Everything went to Hell—
Not that all that happened the year before went well,
But then again, there’s the saying “Third time’s a charm,”
So when it comes to New Year’ Eve…what’s the harm?

This entire decade so far’s been a load of crap.
It’s made me so angry that I need to take a nap
So that all I’ve witnessed and endured can fade away
And all can change for the better come New Year’s Day.

*****

I hope that the above work will give everyone an idea of what to expect from this new segment. Granted, I know it’s very much like my usual “Poem of the Week,” but remember that you folks do have the power to decide the topic of each new entry. That being said, I invite you to respond to this post to let me know which topics you’d like me to write a hoedown about, and in the meantime, feel free to also visit my author pages at Smashwords.com, Amazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk and support my work. Until then, thank you all for stopping by again this week, and let’s all hope 2016 turns out to be a better year than 2015 has been.

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

