Poem of the Week: Holiday Shopping at the Mall Many Years Later

Holiday Shopping at the Mall Many Years Later
December 10, 2015

So I went to the mall just yesterday
For some last-minute gifts for the Holidays,
And I couldn’t believe the heart-breaking sight
Of the stores I once knew vanishing overnight
In favor of stores I’ll probably never go,
And it still makes me sad seeing things just so.

I know what you’re all thinking, too: “So?
That’s how change works: Here yesterday,
Gone today. Don’t like the new stores? Don’t go.”
Maybe I should and just enjoy the Holidays.
Even so, this vision won’t disappear overnight,
For in my eyes, there’s more to such a sad sight.

Back in the days when money was in sight
Stores were varied, arranged, and stocked just so
With items of interest that arrived overnight
That fit in with what was on sale yesterday
And made me want to spend a financial holiday
Buying everything in sight ‘til it was time to go.

That was years ago, though, and ho! Where’d they go?
Gone with the wind—still in mind, but out of sight,
And worst yet, too, during the Holidays.
Already have I been missing the past so
That more than ever am I pining for yesterday
And the moments I’ve allowed to fade away overnight.

It’s depressingly funny how time can pass by overnight
And how we’re all so apt to let good things go
By, having taken them all for granted yesterday
And later on let things fade out of sight
Only to allow change to happen just so
Unsatisfactorily, especially around the Holidays.

After all, the magic of the Holidays
Is meant to last as long as, if not longer that, overnight,
And for it to be dampened by something so
Shocking to one’s wistfulness as seeing a favorite store go
Takes away so much from all the sounds and sights
We’ve known year after year and makes us miss yesterday.

I’ll never forget yesterday, especially ‘round the Holidays—
The stores, the sounds, the sights, all having vanished overnight.
Such a shame to see them go. Oh, how I miss them so!

*****

Author Pages: Smashwords.com

                         Amazon.com

                         Amazon.co.uk

Leave a Reply

