Poem of the Week: ‘Til Death Do Us Part

‘Til Death Do Us Part
March 3, 2015

It’s not enough to say I love you. It’s not enough to say I care.
It’s not enough to hold you close to me and run my fingers through your hair.
It’s not enough to kiss you tenderly on your rose petal lips
Or even take you dancing into the night, my hand above your hips.
I feel I can do much more for you than anything I’ve just named,
Namely slide a diamond around your finger and share with you my name,
And if you ask why I’d do such a thing, my answer would be this:
I’m tired of living a bachelor’s life and wish to know wedded bliss.
I want to finally know how to care for somebody else
Rather than live inside my own little world with only myself.
I want to know what it’s like to come home to someone other than
The voices in my head that drone on about how I’m just half a man.
I’m sick of being mad at a world that won’t take me as I am,
That each time I try to be a part of it tells me to scram.
I want to know there’s someone who’ll learn to accept my flaws
And won’t cast me back to the shadows from whence I came just because.
I’ve been rejected time and again, and it’s been long enough.
I need that someone in my life who won’t feed me that stuff,
And quite frankly, you’re the first to accept me as a whole
And not toss me as the others have down into a deep, dark hole.
You’ve taken me for who I am, for better or for worse,
And accepted each imperfection of mine, blessing and curse.
You see me for the monster I can be, yet all the same,
You see me for my other side and know I’m not hard to tame
And though I cannot promise you that taming me will be easy,
I’ll do all to ensure our union doesn’t leave you queasy.
All that said, please accept this ring as a token of my undying love
And hear me as I swear to you for all to hear above
That I’ll forever cherish you with every beat of my heart
And will honor and obey you ‘til death do us part.

*****

Author Pages: Smashwords.com

                          Amazon.com

                          Amazon.co.uk

7 thoughts on “Poem of the Week: ‘Til Death Do Us Part

      • Thank you. Better late than never. I know how we can get caught up by the work on our site. There are many sites I like to visit but I cannot; so I understand. Have a great day and keep the light shining.

  1. Reminds me a bit of an old love ballad by White Lion. Great song, too. Have a listen when you have a chance.

    This poem here is clearly its own separate entity, though, I’ll admit, and a good one at that. I just thought I’d point this out. Hope you like the song either way, and good luck to you on the rest of this blog!

    • Yeah, it’s a great song. Quite beautiful. I actually bought the album to which this song is a part of, Mane Attraction, several years back at a flea market that my family and I visit annually. The title itself is a sheer coincidence, however, as it best fits the message this poem is trying to convey. Please think of it as nothing more than that.

      Thanks for your response all the same! 🙂

Leave a Reply

