Poem of the Week: Taking Back the Entertainment Industry

Hello, readers!

This week’s “Poem of the Week” is my first attempt at a ghazal. Feel free to leave me feedback on it, especially if you’re familiar with ghazal poetry yourself and have any constructive criticism concerning how this one stacks up with other poems of its type. In the meantime, enjoy!

*****

Taking Back the Entertainment Industry
February 17, 2015

The gates of Hell have opened wide for you, my friend.
There’s nothing to escape that you can do, my friend.

You’ve lined the pockets of the Devil with your cash
To support a thing most foul, which you knew, my friend.

Now Karma’s come to collect from us all, no thanks
To the patronage ol’ Scratch has from you, my friend.

Soulless, tasteless, pandering—is that what you want?
If so, all I can say is toodle-oo, my friend.

I’m fed up with this status quo. I demand change!
I won’t buy in or sell out. I’m not you, my friend.

It’s time we all took a stand against perversion
And let the makers know how much we’re through, my friend.

We’re not dumb, you know. We know trash when we see it.
The mindless masses we don’t belong to, my friend.

Should Judgment Day come, we’ll be one black mark cleaner
Than any liar or thief backed by you, my friend.

We won’t be so simply underestimated.
We’ll win back the industry. We’ll show you, my friend.

After all, yours truly isn’t one to give up,
And in the end, all this crap will be through, my friend.

*****

Author Pages: Smashwords.com

                          Amazon.com

                          Amazon.co.uk

2 thoughts on “Poem of the Week: Taking Back the Entertainment Industry

Leave a Reply

