Poem of the Week: A Little Respect Goes a Long Way

Hello, readers!

We’ve all had that certain someone in our lives who has treated us like absolute fecal matter on at lest one occasion out of his or her apparent need to put us down for one reason or another. Chances are, too, that we’ve never told that person just how their words have hurt us. Chances are, however, that if we had the mind to say something to these individuals, what we’d say would go along the lines of this week’s composition. Without further ado, then, here’s A Little Respect Goes a Long Way. Enjoy!

*****

A Little Respect Goes a Long Way
August 29, 2014

Don’t ever treat me like I’m stupid.
Don’t ever treat me like I’m dumb
Just ‘cause I like to do things my way
Or may act, at times, a bit numb.

Don’t talk down to me like I’m some child
When I don’t get things right away.
You don’t know just how my brain works,
And you’d hate me if I treated you that way.

Don’t insult, patronize, or berate me
When I chance to do something wrong.
I’ve feelings, too, after all, and don’t dance
To anyone’s bitter, scolding song.

Don’t yell or scream at me, either,
When I don’t do things your way.
It doesn’t help me do what I’m doing;
Your words just ruin my day.

Even if I’m as dense as you think I am,
You still have no right
To treat me with such scorn and disdain
And cause a scene with me on sight.

Such behavior’s just rude, condescending,
And degrading to the highest degree,
And it doesn’t help me improve at all
In doing what I do for thee.

I guarantee that if I did the same
To you, you’d wish me dead
Or at the very least lash out at me
And smack me in the head.

Nobody deserves that kind of treatment,
Save for the worst of our kind—
Those who hurt others deliberately
For their own sick sense of mind;

Those who think they’re beyond the rules
To which civilized folks adhere;
Who lie, cheat, steal, maim, and kill
So they can grin ear to ear.

Am I than much of a lowlife to you?
Is that the reason you feel
The need to put me down every chance you get?
Is that your deal?

If that’s the case, then I’ve news for you:
I’m not that kind of man.
I’m just going through life, working hard
And doing the best I can

To make things better for at least myself
And all who care about me,
And I don’t appreciate your belittlement
Of all that I do, you see.

I’m sorry I don’t live up to your standards.
I’m sorry you hate my guts.
I’m sorry you think I’m nothing more
Than a sorry, pathetic putz,

But that still doesn’t give you the right
To treat me like I’m worthless
And badger, browbeat, and berate me ’til
I’m left completely mirthless—

Especially if you feel that doing so
Is the sole way to empower
Yourself and surpass whatever pain
You feel at a given hour.

I’m a human being, too, after all—
One who’s trying to overcome
My own imperfections every which way
I can to be a better someone.

How, then, do you think I deserve
To be treated like utter crap—
Especially when I’ve never dumped any
Ill will into your lap?

Honestly, learn to do unto others
As you would have done unto you
And stop treating people like me like we’re
Somehow so beneath you,

For after all has been said and done,
Who’s to say you’ll be seen
As being the better person when
You’re naught but rude and mean?

A little respect goes a long way,
Don’t you know, and I hope you
Come to learn that soon, even if by
The hard way ‘fore your life’s through.

*****

Well, that should do it for today. I hope the poem above has resonated with some of you and will give you the strength you need to effectively to deal with anyone who dares to put you down in the fashion described within it. In the meantime, thank you all for stopping by, and please feel free to visit my author pages at Smashwords.comAmazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk. Otherwise, as always, folks, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

