Poem of the Week: A Rock and a Hard Place

Hello, readers!

Well, it’s back to my roots for this week, as far as poetry is concerned, and thankfully, I’ve got a doozy for you folks this time around. My apologies for last week for not having one to share with you last time. However, rather than make excuses for myself, allow me instead to share with you this week’s entry, which I hope will make up for last time. Without further ado, then, here’s my latest limerick chain, A Rock and a Hard Place. Please enjoy!

*****

A Rock and a Hard Place
April 8, 2014

Caught between a rock and a hard place
With so many obstacles to face
Is quite a pain
And can drive one insane,
Leaving one’s mind and soul displaced,

And if you’re of the faint of heart,
You’ll likely not know where to start.
You’ll be bouncing off walls
As your brain stalls
On the verge of falling apart.

So what do you do, my friend,
When you can’t see relief ‘round the bend?
Do you try to tough it out,
Even when it makes you shout
And scream at the pain that doesn’t end,

Or do you simply walk away,
Hoping to get back one day,
Lest your memory rots
And your mind becomes shot,
And you forget your task anyway?

Either way, the choice is tough,
But hopefully, you’ve the stuff
To make the right call,
Stand by it, rise or fall,
And march on through it well enough.

*****

That should do it for today. Thank you all for reading, and I hope you’ve enjoyed this week’s entry. Also, if you’re interested, please visit my author pages at Smashwords.com, Amazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk for more about me and my current literary works. Be sure to keep on the lookout, too, for the latest news concerning my latest project, The Kingdom of Somnia, which I’d first talked about on this blog on June 22, 2013. In the meantime, everyone, as always, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

