Song of the Week: Only a Vision

Only A Vision
by Dustin M. Weber
12/24/04

Verse A
Sitting here all alone
In my house, but not at home,
Something’s got a hold on me:
A dream I still hold dearly in my heart,
Even though Time has torn us apart–
Something that could’ve been, yet will never be.

Verse B
There we stand, side by side.
I am your groom, and you are my bride,
Ready to start our lives anew,
And I think of how beautiful it could’ve been
Should I’ve been your king, should you’ve been my queen,
Should we have ever shared our love true.

Verse 1
Had that’ve been, we’d have been standing tall,
And we would have endured it all.
We would’ve proven our virtue to the Powers Above
In the name of our love…but…

Chorus A
It was only a vision as far as I can see.
It was only a vision of what I wanted our lives to be.
So many nights I have cried.
It all still tears me up inside,
‘Cause now it’s only a vision of you and me.

Verse C
I wish I never had to let you go.
I wish I was strong enough to let you know
Exactly how much you still mean to me.
Such is the price for my slack,
And now I know there’s no turning back,
For what I’ve dreamt then will now never be.

Verse 2
I know now that I’ll never be the same
And that I only have myself to blame
For not taking the initiative when doing so was due
And in the end, losing you…now…

Chorus B
It’s only a vision from what I can see.
It’s only a vision of what I’ve wanted life to be.
I don’t know anything else
Than feeling sorry for myself,
But now it’s only a vision of you and me.

Verse 3
It doesn’t matter how hard I try.
All I ever do is think about you and cry.
You’re the only woman I’ve ever cared about,
Now I must learn to live without…‘cause…

Chorus C
It’s only a vision so far as I can see.
It’s only a vision of what I wanted our lives to be.
I know I’ve got to let go,
But I still must tell you even though
It’s only a vision…

Chorus D
It’s only a vision from what I can see.
It’s only a vision of what I wanted life to be.
This pain I simply can’t hide
‘Cause it still tears me up inside.
Yeah, it’s only a vision…of you and me.

*****

Author Pages: Smashwords.com

                          Amazon.com

                          Amazon.co.uk

Leave a Reply

