Response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt from March 22, 2014: Keeping Myself Sane

Hello, readers!

The following Shakespearean sonnet is a response to a Daily Prompt that The Daily Post had made on their blog here at WordPress.com a couple days ago on March 22. Basically, it’s an answer to their question on how the blog’s readers feel on aging and how they stay “young at heart” as they grow older. Without further ado, then, here’s Keeping Myself Sane. Please enjoy!

*****

Keeping Myself Sane
March 23, 2014

The older I get, the harder it gets
For me to think straight at various times.
Sometimes I recall, others I forget,
And I often feel I’m losing my mind.
This was no problem one decade ago
When I first started this venture of mine.
Sadly, that was then; now I feel much woe,
Hoping my brain survives the test of time.
Thankfully, my writing helps keep my brain
Ready and active when I need it to.
Same with music, as it, too, keeps me sane.
However, if there’s one key thing I do,
It’s keep myself on track for one false step
Could very well lead to my mind’s swift death.

*****

That should do it for today. Thank you all for reading, and if you’re interested, please visit my author pages at Smashwords.com, Amazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk for more about me and my current literary works. Also, be sure to keep on the lookout for the latest news concerning my latest project, The Kingdom of Somnia, which I’d first talked about on this blog on June 22, 2013. In the meantime, everyone, as always, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

