Song of the Week: Beast of Burden

Hey, readers!

Because so many of my posts here on this blog of mine have included straight poetry, I felt that the time had come for a change of pace. Therefore, instead of posting a new poem this week, I’ve decided to post some lyrics for a song that I’d written roughly nine years ago. Hopefully, this post will break up the monotony of things and give people something somewhat fresh to look at. At any rate, though, here are the lyrics to my first official “Song of the Week,” Beast of Burden. Enjoy!

*****

Beast Of Burden
by Dustin M. Weber
November 27, 2004

Verse A
There was a time when I was searching for love,
So desperately that I called upon the heavens above
To send me an angel–a wish that came true
On the day that I first set my eyes on you.
You had an aura of beauty and grace,
Yet agony and sorrow played upon your face.
I wanted to reach out, take you in my arms,
And shield your very being away from all harm.

Chorus A
I would not run, I could not hide
From any fear you kept inside.
I wished to take your hand in mine
And give you strength through all your times.
I just couldn’t stand to see you hurtin’,
So I vowed to be your Beast of Burden.

Verse B
I know how you feel, being so perplexed,
Always afraid of what’ll happen next
In a world of perversion and profanity.
It’s enough to drive anyone to insanity.
Still, I want you to know you’re not alone.
The fear that you have is not merely your own.
Often enough, I’ve felt the same way,
And I mean it with all my heart when I say…

Chorus B
I will not run, I will not hide
From all the fear you keep inside.
Just bring it to me and let it all out.
I’ll heed your cries, should you scream and shout.
I won’t deny you when you start hurtin’,
And I still vow to be your Beast of Burden.

Bridge
I’ll run to your side whenever you call.
I’ll reach out and catch you, should you ever fall.
I won’t let your life become a tragedy.
I’ll share your anguish, frustration, and pain,
‘Cause I know if I felt that way, you’d do the same.
All you have to do is have faith in me.
Just have faith in me.

Repeat Chorus B twice.

*****

And that should do it for this week. Granted, straight-up poetry is more my specialty, but hopefully, these lyrics were worth reading all the same. Feedback would be highly appreciated, including tips on how I can improve as a song writer. Otherwise, thank you all for stopping by, and feel free to visit my author pages on Smashwords.com, Amazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk as well. In the meantime, folks, as always, happy reading!

Regards,

Dustin M. Weber

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.