Poem of the Week: Attention, Mr. Spambot

Greetings, readers!

For those of you who remember the poem I’d posted on this blog over a year ago entitled Ring-a-Ling-a-Ling!, here’s what one could call its long-overdue “sequel,” only this time, the topic is email spam and the creeps who think it’s funny to flood others’ email accounts with unsolicited emails. Without further ado, then, here’s the villanelle entitled Attention, Mr. Spambot. Please enjoy!

*****

Attention, Mr. Spambot
October 11, 2013

Attention, Mr. Spambot: Let me be.
You’re selling me trash that I’ll never buy.
You’re just wasting your precious time on me.

How did you even manage to find me
When your site I’d not bothered to stop by?
Attention, Mr. Spambot: Let me be.

I hope you haven’t phished for me, you see.
After all, I’m not meant for you to fry.
You’re just wasting your precious time on me.

I’ve read through your lies; such transparency—
So laughable it almost makes me cry.
Attention, Mr. Spambot: Let me be.

This is harassment to the Nth degree.
You know it’s wrong, yet you keep it up. Why?
You’re just wasting your precious time on me.

Just turn yourself in to the FTC
So that this can end between you and I.
Attention, Mr. Spambot: Let me be.
You’re just wasting your precious time on me.

*****

Well, that should do it for this week. Thank you all again for stopping by, and by all means, feel free to leave a comment on this poem to tell me what you think not only of this composition, but any other poem I’ve posted on this blog. Also, don’t hesitate to let me know if you’re interested in seeing me try my hand at a new style of poetry or if there’s a particular topic you’d like to see me write about in the future, be it in verse or otherwise. Aside from that, feel free to visit my author pages at Smashwords.com, Amazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk to see what I have available for sale (particularly for the Holidays), and as always, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

