Poem of the Week: Autumn: The Season of Change

Greetings, readers!

For this week’s “Poem of the Week,” I’ve decided to keep it simple, straight-forward, upbeat, and self-explanatory. Without further ado then, here’s Autumn: The Season of Change. Please enjoy!

*****

“Autumn Way Wallpaper” courtesy of Wallike.com (See footnotes for more details.)

Autumn: The Season of Change
October 2, 2013

Halloween ‘round the corner, Thanksgiving another bend,
I’ve got too much ahead of me to think my life’s at an end.
Too long have I been struggling to give up my plight somehow,
And all my effort’ll be for naught if I surrender now.
Personally, I wish I’d achieved this dream of mine years ago
Back when I still had my youth and health. Alas, it wasn’t so.
I know, too, what I was doing wrong and continue to smack my head
Every time I think of it, and it still fills me with dread
Every time I ask myself, “What if I’d never learned?
What if I’d kept doing what I’d been? How badly would’ve I been burned?”
I try not to think about it, then, and chose instead to move on
And continue the work I’m working on now so that I can say so long—
So long to all the second-guessing I’ve done for so many years,
So long to all my childhood and adolescent fears,
So long to all the anxiety and self-doubt with which I’ve been plagued
That had shrouded my visions of self-worth and made my future so vague,
And good riddance to all the drama I’ve been through as a young man
That has taken me to Hell and back and made me who I am
For better and for worse alike, but never the easy way.
So long and good riddance to it all! It’s time for a new day.
After all, it’s autumn, which has always meant change for me,
And not just a new year of school, either, or new shows on TV
Or even a change in season, obvious as that may be,
But rather a change of stage for me to prove what I can be—
Always a new opportunity, always one more chance,
To prove what I’m made of and show what I can bring to the dance,
And I know I’ve plenty to prove both to myself and to the world
When it comes to winning the hearts of every man, woman, boy, and girl,
But I’m not afraid to try now, for who knows where I’ll be,
Should I succeed in this quest of mine and learn what it means to be free.
I thus hereby welcome autumn—what’s left of it, leastways,
And hope this year it’ll be the start of my knowing better days,
And should that happen, world, look out, ‘cause here I come
To leave my mark on history and be known by everyone.

*****

Well, that should do it for today. Thank you all for stopping by and reading my work, and I hope you’ll all stay tuned for my next “Poem of the Week,” where I’ll be sharing two poems from my current work in progress, Dream Roamers: Tyler’s Journey through the Kingdom of Somnia, which I’ve posted the working introductory chapter to back in June. Otherwise, feel free to stop by my author pages at Smashwords.com, Amazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk for some early holiday shopping, and in the meantime, as always, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

P.S.: Image used (c) April 24, 2013 Wallike.com (photographer unknown). The poem itself, however, is the author’s own.

3 thoughts on “Poem of the Week: Autumn: The Season of Change

Leave a Reply

