Poem of the Week: You Disappoint Me

Hello, readers!

This week’s “Poem of the Week” will be my last poem about bullying, at least for a little while. However, unlike four weeks ago, this particular composition is in the format of a villanelle and tells the story of a concerned parent who finds out that his or her son has been bullying a fellow student at school. Without further ado, then, here’s You Disappoint Me. Please enjoy!

*****

You Disappoint Me
September 15, 2013

You disappoint me. Yes, my child, it’s true.
You’ve really made an ass of yourself, son.
I am so very unhappy with you.

Having been teased yourself, I thought you knew
Better than to pick on others for fun.
You disappoint me. Yes, my child, it’s true.

Don’t you know what you’ve put that poor kid through
With ev’rything you’ve said to him and done?
I am so very unhappy with you.

And all so you can have a laugh or two
At his expense? Tell me how that’s not dumb.
You disappoint me. Yes, my child, it’s true.

Worse yet is how hard it is to tell you
You’re just sending your future on the run.
I am so very unhappy with you.

How does it make sense to put others through
Pain and vexation just to have some fun?
You disappoint me. Yes, my child, it’s true.
I am so very unhappy with you.

*****

That should do it for this session. Thank you all once again for coming by to read my material, and hopefully, I’ll be able to post a poem next week that either a) is a little more upbeat or b) concerns a topic that I haven’t discussed yet on this blog, even if only for a long while. In the meantime, feedback is very much appreciated, and by all means, don’t be afraid to stop by any of my author pages at Smashwords.com, Amazon.com,
or Amazon.co.uk to see what I have available for purchase. Otherwise, thanks again, and until the next time we meet, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

