Bonus Poem of the Week: A Matter of Self-Reliance

Greeting, readers!

There are times in life where we all need some sort of consolation following something that has hit us hard, be it a rejection or termination from a job we’ve either always wanted or have busted our backsides to do well, a break-up with someone with whom we’ve had a long-lasting relationship that has suddenly gone sour, or even just a bad day at school or work. However, there are times when we either a) can see right through the person trying to console us and see his or her concern for how half-hearted or downright disingenuous said concern actually is or b) are too blinded by our agitation to accept said compassion when it truly is sincere. This poem is dedicated to those of you out there who have gone through such moments in your lives and is in a format that I have had yet to try up until now, which is called Roundabout poetry. It’s a fairly recent style that you can read about here on Robert Lee Brewer’s blog at WritersDigest.com, should you be interested. Otherwise, here’s A Matter of Self-Reliance. I hope you enjoy it!

*****

A Matter of Self-Reliance
September 20, 2013

I don’t want your sympathy.
I don’t want your crap.
I’m a grown man,
And I can
Move on without you in my lap.

I don’t hear anyone playing me taps,
So why don’t you think I can
Carry on with my life,
You piece of tripe?
Quit babying me, man!

I know I’ll find my promised land
If it takes me day and night,
And though I’ve yet to see
Any break for me,
I’ll never give up the fight,

And if I need help with my plight,
You’d be the last person I’d see,
So cut the crap
And get off my lap,
Lying hypocrite. Let me be!

*****

That should do it for today. Thank you all for coming by my to read my work, and for future reference, if any of you ever feel that you just need that little bit of space to cope with whatever problems you may be having in life and would rather deal with things yourself rather than have others crowd you in an effort to help you, no matter how genuine such an effort may be, never feel afraid to say so. Granted, I know the message that this poem is sending is a bit on the harsh side of things, but if there’s a way for you to convey this same message to such people in a gentler fashion, it is your right to do so. Just remember that there’s no shame in asking for help when you need it, but on the same token, sometimes we all need to handle things ourselves. It’s all in knowing when, how, and why that little bit of extra help is needed.

Anyway, thanks again for stopping by, and until next time, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

