Bonus Poem of the Week: A Villanelle on Villanelles

How are you, readers?

Earlier this week, I received a request from my most recent subscriber, Deelaytful, to try my hand at a style of poetry that I hadn’t attempted since my college days. As a result, I have managed to compose for you all the first official villanelle I have ever written for this blog, the aptly named A Villanelle on Villanelles. Without further ado, then…

*****

A Villanelle on Villanelles
April 15, 2013

It ain’t easy writing a villanelle.
You can do this, you can do that.
It’s a tricky style, as you can tell.

Write one word wrong, the whole piece goes to Hell,
And you might as well feed it to your cat.
It ain’t easy writing a villanelle.

Write one syllable too many? Oh, well…
None say ‘twill be perfect right off the bat.
It’s a tricky style, as you can tell.

Trial and error, though, will teach you well
In getting the format down pat.
It ain’t easy writing a villanelle.

Paying attention to details will tell
Where the most difficult parts are at.
It’s a tricky style, as you can tell.

Learn from it all, and things will turn out swell,
Even if not quite in no time flat.
It ain’t easy writing a villanelle.
It’s a tricky style, as you can tell.

*****

And there you have it–my first villanelle here on AuthorDustinWeber.Wordpress.com. As stated earlier, it’s been a while since I’d last written a poem of this nature, so please, those of you who are familiar with villanelles, feel free to offer me constructive criticism in the instance that I’ve fallen short of doing this style of poetry any justice. Otherwise, I’d like to thank you all for stopping by once again, and as always, be sure to check out my author pages at Smashwords.com, Amazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk to check out my current list of publications. Otherwise, until next time, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

