Poem of the Week: Ostracized

How’s it going, readers?

This week, we’re going to keep it simple and take a look at the evils of prejudice with a little Shakespearean sonnet I’ve managed to compose called Ostracized. Please enjoy!

*****

Ostracized
April 8, 2013

People are people, as it has been said,
And yet in this world, prejudice remains,
For some folks just can’t get it through their heads
That hating others only causes pain:
People cast away and made to believe
That they’re worth nothing and they don’t belong
Just ‘cause certain others poorly receive
Them ‘cause they somehow look, think, or act “wrong,”
Even if they themselves don’t hurt others.
Such has long been the superficial taint
That we’ve brought upon ourselves, my brothers
And sisters, and tolerable it ain’t.
It makes me sick to see folks ostracized
And forced to live such lonely, bitter lives.

*****

Well, that pretty much wraps up this week’s “Poem of the Week.” Thank you all for stopping by once again, and I hope this piece has given you all a little bit of insight on how wrong it is for people to show unrestrained contempt for others just because they’re different from them in one way or another. In the meantime, feel free to come on back next week for yet another work of mine, and until then, don’t be shy about checking out my author pages at Smashwords.com, Amazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk to see which books I have available for purchase. otherwise, as always, folks, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

4 thoughts on “Poem of the Week: Ostracized

    • I appreciate your feedback, and I’m happy that you approve of my work. Sonnets used to be a specialty of mine back in my high school and college days upon my learning about them through studying Shakespeare’s work. I’ve also been studying other forms of poetry as well and hope to try out a new style soon for one of my next “Poems of the Week.” Feel free to subscribe to my blog so that you yourself can see which style of poetry I’ll use for next week’s poem. Until then, thank you once more for showing interest in my blog here! 🙂

      • Honestly, it’s been a while since I’ve written a villanelle, and I can’t even remember the last time I’ve written a sestina. Still, you’ve made a good suggestion. I can’t promise that my next poem definitely will adopt either one of these two formats, but I can most certainly try my hand at them. At any rate, thank you for your suggestion!

Leave a Reply

