Poem of the Week: Anthem of an Early High School Graduate

Hello, readers.

Recently, I’ve been reflecting on my personal past, and on account of my doing so, I found myself inspired to write the following composition. To be brutally honest, I’m actually surprised that I hadn’t written a work like this back in the day for me to later include it as yet another entry in my first official poetry anthology, The Sun Shan’t Set on Me! Poems from My Younger Days (Ages 16 to 23). Regardless of that, though, I hereby dedicate this week’s “Poem of the Week” to those of you out there who either a) are still in high school right now, hate it with a passion, and long for the day when you can get your high school diploma and get the hell out or b) have already graduated high school some time ago and are happy to be out of it and otherwise moving on with your adult life. Either way, I nonetheless hope you all find some enjoyment from reading this next work of mine, Anthem of an Early High School Graduate.

*****

Anthem of an Early High School Graduate
March 4, 2013

Thank God I’m no longer in high school!
Thank God those days are done!
Thank God I can at long last send
My many troubles on the run!

No more annoying little bastards
Driving me up a wall
By talking crap about and to me and running
Like the cowards they are down the hall.

No more dumbass meathead coaches
Treating me like I’m the stupid one
And barking at me like slave drivers
Every practice during warm-up runs.

No more heartless, spineless teachers
Treating me like a child,
Questioning my smarts and maturity
And humiliating me all the while.

No more narrow-minded deans
Or principals glaring at me
Like I’m the troublemaker just because
I think and act differently.

All that crap is behind me now,
But most importantly,
The one thing I’m glad I’m done with now
Is all the superficiality.

No more clubs or teams I’m expected to join,
No more valedictorian race,
No more trying out for the school play
’Til some upstart makes me look like a disgrace.

No more sweaty gym uniforms I have to wear,
No more ugly eyesore class rings,
No more cliques to be ostracized from.
I’m done with all those petty things.

No more years books I’ll never have to look at
And definitely no more prom,
No more dreams that’ll never come true
Based on romantic notions that are wrong.

I’m done with it all, never to go back—
A great weight off my shoulders. Amen!
Now I can focus on my future without
Needing to look back on back then.

I wish it’d have all gone smoother, I’ll admit,
And I wish I’d had closer friends.
Then again, even if things had gone my way,
It’d have still all come to an end,

For nothing lasts forever, as the old saying goes,
And adolescence is no exception,
And now that I’m one step closer to adulthood,
It’s time to take on a new direction.

I’m really looking forward to doing so, too,
And making my mark in this world,
Now that the flag of forbiddance that once flew
Above me is no longer unfurled.

Now I can contribute to society at a
Much more significant scale,
And I plan to do whatever it takes
To make sure I prevail.

I can’t deny, though, that many are now
The challenges that lie ahead of me
That are making me ponder over the path
That’ll take me where I want to be.

Many are the hurdles now that I must clear
In order to at least attain
The ultimate outcome I’ve dreamt for myself
During these last three years of pain.

Where must I go and what must I do
To prove to the world my worth,
And after all is said and done,
Will it truly be a rebirth?

Will I finally live happily ever after
In my life beyond my high school days,
Or will my depression and anxiety
Lead me into an endless haze

Of confusion and frustration
That I may never escape?
Heaven or Hell? Which will it be?
I guess I’ll just have to wait

And see once I take my very first step
Towards my destiny,
For if one thing’s for sure, it’s the fact
That I’d much rather be

Venturing off into the unknown
Rather than back to where
My life was more or less a living hell,
So for right now, I don’t care

How severe my hardships will be in the days
To come, for they certainly
Can’t be any harsher than those I’ve endured
In the place where I used to be,

So good riddance, high school! Gone are you
From my life, and I’ll never look back
Upon all the misery I’ve put up with
From you, for I’m moving on, Jack!

*****

This hereby concludes this week’s “Poem of the Week.” I thank you all for stopping by my blog to read this week’s selection and hope that it has appealed to at least most of you one way or another. In the meantime, as always, be sure to check out The Sun Shan’t Set on Me! Poems from My Younger Days (Ages 16 to 23) and the rest of my current publications at any of my three author pages: Smashwords.com, Amazon.com, and Amazon.co.uk. Hopefully, you’ll find something on one of these three sites that’ll prove to be the ideal gift for that certain someone in your life for Easter. At any rate, however, thank you again for visiting my blog, and until next time, happy reading!

Regards,
Dustin M. Weber

2 thoughts on “Poem of the Week: Anthem of an Early High School Graduate

  1. So true, my friend…so true indeed. Kinda reminds me of all the crap I myself had to put up with during my high school days. Man, am I glad those days are done and over with and that I’ll never have to go back to that hellhole. Good riddance!

    At any rate, though, keep up the good work! 🙂

    • Thanks for the kind words, Brad. Definitely come on back this coming Sunday for yet another Poem of the Week. Hopefully, I’ll have something equally good up then.

Leave a Reply

