My New Year’s Resolutions for 2013

Happy 2013!Happy 2013, readers!

Well, as promised a couple of days ago in my last post of 2012, this official first post of 2013 is my New Year’s Resolutions post, where I officially state my goals for this new year both as a professional author and as a blogger here at WordPress.com. Here, you’ll get the lowdown on what I plan to bring to the table not only here at my blog, but also on each of my three author pages (Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk, and Smashwords.com) and hopefully elsewhere. What exactly do I mean by that? Well, just sit back, relax, and let me explain.

Dustin M. Weber’s Hopes and Promises for 2013

  1. Being more regular in submitting poetry and articles. This is more or less a given, seeing as how the stretch of time between August and November 2012 was more or less barren in terms of material and how this past month resulted in at least one untimely release of my usual “Poem of the Week.” Therefore, if there’s one thing that I plan to do, it’s to provide you all with more articles, poems, short stories, and so on to catch up on regularly as well as to be more punctual in providing it, even if said material is little more than an announcement of where my books are available for purchase or what kind of material I’m working on at the moment or even a sale that I might be hosting on Smashwords.com.
  2. Not announcing a release until said book is officially ready to go. Back on July 26, I made an announcement about my latest work, UWWX: The Underground Women’s Wrestling Xperiment and said that I was hoping to have the book published by September. Sadly, that didn’t happen, as I was stuck editing the doggone thing until December 2, when I finally published it on my author page at Smashwords.com. Thus, from now on, should I be in the process of finishing a present work of mine, you will know precisely when it’s ready for purchase. After all, I don’t want to whet people’s appetites too soon and let them down when my work isn’t available until a much later date because honestly, I have yet to meet anyone who cares for anyone else who makes promises that he or she cannot keep.
  3. Broadening my horizons. As I state on my author page at Smashwords.com, my interests are diverse when it comes to my writing. Therefore, in an attempt to provide something for everyone, I plan on trying out at least one new subgenre of fiction this year in hopes of producing something that will appeal to a market that’s different from the one I’ve marketed my material to previously. In other words, if any of the books I’ve self-published this past year aren’t your cup of tea, stick around, for you just might come across one book of mine that’ll be more up your alley.
  4. Introducing new topics in my articles. In addition to broadening my horizons as an author, I also plan to introduce some topics on this blog that I have yet to discuss, specifically those that directly pertain to my work. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from my freshman year of blogging, after all, it’s that my articles are what draw the most attention, and as anyone who has read even just one of my articles can tell you, it’s this: People know when I have something that I want to talk about, whether it’d be about professional wrestling, video games, or anything else that I’ve yet to discuss. Just like with my books, if it interests me, expect to see something about it here.
  5. Finishing what I’ve started. Here’s another given for my blog, seeing as I know all too well that I have two miniseries underneath the “In Relation to My Work” label that have yet to be completed—namely, my discussion on how video games get my creative juices flowing and my proposed reboot of the Bloody Roar fighting game franchise. Don’t worry, though, folks, for I surely plan on bringing each of those discussions to a close in the not-too-distant future.
  6. Publishing at least one more book. While I won’t go into to much detail right now about what my current project is all about, I will say this: I have every intention on getting said book published in 2013—preferably in print. After all, I may currently be a published author, self-published or otherwise, but so far, each of my works is only available in ebook format, and last time I checked, physical copies of books still constitute a majority of book sales these days. Besides, like so many other self-published authors out on the market right now, I have dreams of becoming “the next big thing” in the literary world, and  believe me when I say that the day I at long last get to see one of my books in either paperback or hardcover form on a bookstore or department store shelf will definitely be a day for me to remember.

Well, there you have it, folks—six resolutions for 2013 for me both as a blogger and as an author. I hope you all have enjoyed this blog entry, regardless of whether you personally believe in New Years resolutions, and feel yourself inspired to come check out my humble little webpage in the near future. Otherwise, feel free to check out any of my three author pages as lusted above, and as always, happy reading!

Regards,

Dustin M. Weber

Image used in this post (c) 2013 XNYS.Blogspot.com. The remainder of the content within this post however, is my own.

Leave a Reply

