Poem of the Week: Path of Mystery

Happy Holidays, readers!

First of all, for any of you who’d been waiting anxiously for me to publish UWWX: The Women’s Wrestling Xperiment, I wholeheartedly apologize for the delay, as I myself had been expecting to publish the book much, much sooner than I had (this past Cyber Monday at the latest). Thankfully, however, the task has been completed as promised all the same, and my latest novel is now available for the Holidays. Furthermore, we can now make up for lost time with my usual segment, the “Poem of the Week.” What better way, too, to celebrate the publication of my most recent publication than with a poem about future prospects? Therefore, without further ado, here’s Path of Mystery. Please enjoy!

*****

Path of Mystery

November 24, 2012

 

Free at last, free at last, and the Powers Without Shape can kiss my ass!

I’d apologize, too, for sounding so crass and coming off like I’ve little class,

But what should I feel sorry for, now that I’ve sent my troubles out the door

And no longer have to feel chained down by responsibility to the ground?

After all, I can at last move on with the rest of my life and be strong,

Knowing there’s something new just ahead beyond the muck-filled Pool of Dread

That I’ve been stuck in for even I don’t know how long, and as I open my eyes

And cast them upon the sunlit sky I’ve once turned away from, I ask myself “Why?”

Why’ve I denied myself all this? Such beauty and wonder I’ve come to miss!”

These trees above me, for instance, aren’t bare and brittle like the ones I knew back there.

So lush are they with leaves of green, many bearing fresh fruit so perfect and pristine

That I can’t help but pluck some and take a bite and savor such an unadulterated delight

As birds aplenty chirp merrily and flutter from branch to branch above me

While flowers upon flowers bloom various hues—purples, reds, yellows, pinks, oranges, and blues—

On either side of a of a packed dirt road that stretches for miles into parts unknown

With nary a footprint set within it, save for my own…and so begins it—

My venture down a trail untraveled in hopes that some new plot will unravel

And present a new element to my life, which could either bear me further strife

Or, for a change, good luck instead and a chance to traverse even further ahead

‘Til I reach the end of this Path of Mystery and see what awaits there, whatever it may be.

Perchance it’ll be at long last the relief I’ve long searched for from all my grief.

Perchance, too, it may be another trial of wills I’ll have to face. (Oh, brother!)

Thus is the conundrum: Will my labors past reap me reward at long last,

Or are there more tribulations ahead that may very well lead me back to the Pool of Dread?

It seems as though only time will tell, and though I still hope that things turn out well,

There’s only one way I’ll find out, so without further ado…here I go.

*****

Well, that should do it for today. Thank you all once again for stopping by my blog, and feel free to come on back to find out where else my work will be popping up. In the meantime, please don’t hesitate to stop by my author page at Smashwords.com to pick up a copy of UWWX or any of my other works or to follow my on Twitter @DustinMWeber. In the meantime, though, happy reading, and again, Happy Holidays!

Regards,

Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

