Poem of the Week: Brit the Brazen

Hey, readers!

For this week’s “Poem of the Week,” I’ve decided to present a work that utilizes a format that has proven to be popular on this blog once upon a time with such poems as Flynn the Miserable, The Ranting Game: A Limerick Chain, and What Goes Around Comes Around, Jack! that I hope will appeal to you, my readers, once again. Therefore, without further ado, here is the tale of a young woman whose ambition gets the better of her in the workplace—a tale that can happen to anyone in the real world, should said person be careless enough do pull a similar stunt on one’s coworkers. Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you Brit the Brazen. Enjoy!

*****

Brit the Brazen

July 10, 2012

 

I once knew a girl named Brit

Who never knew when to quit.

No matter how rough

The course, she’d be tough.

Whining? Ha! She’d have none of it.

 

To her, there was no mountain too tall.

If it was a challenge, she’d heed the call.

There was no sea to wide,

For she had too much pride

And, more importantly, too much gall.

 

So loud, too, would be her vict’ry song

After she met such obstacles head on,

And any crowd would cheer

Her utter lack of fear

And her spirit, which was ten people strong.

 

Yes, indeed, Brit was pretty cool,

But that was all back in high school,

And even as time passed,

Through college she did blast,

And the working world, no exception to the rule.

 

Problem is, once she reached the top

Her ambition still didn’t stop,

And when others arrived

To achieve for what they’d strived,

An attitude she’d most blatantly cop.

 

Her motives, too, were all too clear,

And whenever she’d see or hear

Or otherwise get the feeling

Of others shatt’ring the glass ceiling,

She’d fight dirty to act upon her fear.

 

Sometimes, she’d spread petty lies

To cut her “rivals” down to size

Or claim their work as her own

To really cut them to the bone,

All the while keeping up her disguise.

 

Even coworkers who once were her friends

Were stung by her sting in the end,

For she’d be quick to act

And stab them in the back

Sooner or later ‘round the bend.

 

Needless to say, she made her workplace hell

As she made the others walk on eggshells,

And they’d all be perplexed

At what else she’d try next,

For with her, they just couldn’t tell.

 

That all changed, however, one day

When a coworker noticed a cut in her pay

And decided to play sleuth

And ask the boss the truth,

Which he freely gave her right away—

 

Something ‘bout “not finishing her tasks”

And, worse yet, “hitting the flask,”

News that made her incensed

And provide evidence

On the double when she was asked.

 

The reports she’d completed she amassed,

And a breathalyzer test she’d passed,

And when all was said and done,

The boss was proven wrong

About this other employee being low-class…

 

..so he went to the source of the lies,

Who was Brit…yeah, I know…big surprise

And what he’d found he told her

And proceeded to scold her

And, boy, did his volume sure rise!

 

In fact, the whole office could hear

Their boss verbally slay the poor dear,

And when they heard she was fired

Never to be rehired,

Many of them couldn’t help but cheer.

 

Brit then emerged from her office with a pout,

Embarrassed that her boss had found her out,

And as the building she left

And herself she found bereft,

The following words emerged from her mouth:

 

“I’ve worked so hard for so long,

And now all my dreams are gone.

I let my back hit the wall

And have taken a great fall,

All because my own actions were wrong.

 

I feel like my life is now through,

And quite frankly, I don’t know what to do.

Looks like I’ll be a housewife

For the rest of my life.

Hang on, honey; I’m coming home to you.”

 

To be honest, I wish I could say

What had happened after that day,

But I haven’t been keeping up

With any of her stuff,

So I dropped the issue and walked away.

 

Trust me, I could still try to pry

Even further, but tell me this: Why?

Her life’s not mine to live,

So why should I give

A damn what she does under God’s sky?

 

However, one thing I do see fit

Is this helpful little tidbit:

There are times in life

When you very much must fight,

But other times, you must know when to quit.

*****

And that’ll do for this week’s installment. Join me again next week where I hope to have a brand new poem ready and available for your reading pleasure, and in the meantime, yes, I am still in the process of editing my latest novel, UWWX: The Underground Women’s Wrestling Xperiment. The process has been taking me longer than I had expected since May 30, unfortunately, so though I still hope to publish the book later this month, don’t be surprised if I have to push its release date back to sometime in October. My apologies to everyone who is disappointed, but fear not—I will get the project done sooner or later, and from that point on, it will be on to my next book, and I shall continue to publish articles on a less irregular basis on this blog once again as I had been this past June and July.

Aside from that, though, I hope to hear from you all again soon, and as always, please check out my author page at Smashwords.com for current and future releases of mine, and follow me on Twitter @DustinMWeber. Until next time, then, happy reading!

Regards,

Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

