Bonus Poem of the Week: Vow of the Imperfect

Hey, readers!

After some serious consideration, it’s come to my attention that because my most recent “Poem of the Week,” Big Dumb Wally, contains stronger language than pretty much any other work I’ve published on this blog thus far and therefore might only be suitable for a particularly small percentage of my audience, I owe it to the rest of my readers to publish something a little bit more sensitive and perhaps even heartfelt. As such, as a “Bonus Poem of the Week,” I’d like to share with you a little something I’d been able to flesh out yesterday called Vow of the Imperfect—a piece about one man’s desire to move forward with his long-troubled life and to pull himself together so as to become a more suitable human being upon which a long-lost love interest of his can rely. Hopefully, this is the kind of work that will appeal to those of you out there who may have been put off by the admittedly strong tone of Big Dumb Wally. Without further ado, then, please enjoy.

*****

Vow of the Imperfect

September 9, 2012

 

I’m not a perfect person…just like Hoobastank once said.

I’ve got a lot of issues floating ‘round inside my head,

Many of which still bother me as I lie awake at night in my bed.

I’m ornery and high-maintenance, ill-disciplined and immature,

Paranoid and obsessive, and let’s not forget insecure.

In a nutshell, honey, let’s face it: I’m not exactly pure.

Let’s get one thing straight, though: I’m not afraid to change,

Especially since for far too long, things for me have been the same,

And if something new doesn’t happen for me soon, I’ll go insane.

I’m tired of the same old song and dance and fed up with my routine.

I need to move on with my life in hopes of making it more pristine,

And I’d like to find someone to share my new life with, if you know what I mean.

I hope that someone’s you, quite frankly, for you have all I’ve looked for:

A beautiful soul, a marvelous mind, a radiant smile, and more,

And I hope that once we’re together, our world will have plenty for us in store.

I hope you and I can be united as one, bride and groom,

And that maybe we can start a family some time soon

Once our wedding has concluded beneath the watchful yellow moon.

I hope that as we grow closer over our many years,

We can help one another overcome our myriad of fears

In hopes of making us feel more complete as human beings, my dear.

It’d sure help me feel whole again. That I know for a fact,

And I know I would no longer mentally be going to Hell and back

And having to endure an endless barrage of panic attacks.

I’m sure you have your issues, too, with which I’d like to help

Once I get the strength and courage to reconstruct myself

Into the man you’re looking for rather than some petty whelp.

After all, what you deserve is a man who’s spiritually strong

Who’s as devoted to you, heart and soul, as a summer day is long

And who’ll support you through thick and thin, no matter what goes wrong.

Am I that person, though? Not quite yet, I’ll admit,

But I’m willing to face my imperfect nature and get over it

So that I can finally have someone like you in my life, as heaven sees fit.

Something else I’d like to share before we happen to start up a romance

Is that if I happen to blow it for us, you needn’t give me a second chance,

For this is already Heaven’s way of helping me make it to the dance.

To see you again, therefore, is enough reward for me,

And for this opportunity, I’m as grateful as I can be.

Hopefully, then, I can carry out my end of the bargain and help us be free—

Be free from our insecurities and our fear of the unknown,

Free from the troubles we have today so that we can finally own

Some independence for ourselves and each other in this world whence we roam.

The matter is settled, then, as this is my official vow

To find us both a better life somewhere and somehow,

For if there’s a time for either of us to move forward, that time is now.

I promise you I’ll change for the better and be the man you deserve.

I promise I’ll be there for you when this world contests with your nerves,

And unlike some other men I could mention, I promise you I shan’t swerve.

This is my vow unto you. Take it however you may,

But even if I’m not part of your future in any which way,

Please know that deep within my heart, there’s a place where you’ll always stay.

*****

And there you have it, folks—a little something extra this week that should hopefully balance things out as far as tone of voice is concerned. I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I did writing it, and until next time, thank you for visiting my blog, and feel free to stop by my author page at Smashwords.com and follow me on Twitter @DustinMWeber. Otherwise, happy reading!

Regards,

Dustin M. Weber

Leave a Reply

