Bonus Poem of the Week: A Call to Action

Welcome back, readers!

Here’s a quick little bonus poem that I’ve managed to whip up earlier this morning that I hope will give anyone and everyone who reads it a little bit of motivation in doing whatever they do best. I’ll leave it to you all to read it for yourselves and retrieve the full message of it on your own accord, though. That being as it may, please enjoy!

*****

A Call to Action

July 17, 2012

 

Swimming through a sea of madness, not knowing what to believe,

Caught up in the undertow that’s sucking me into the abyss,

Drowning in others’ foolishness, compelling me to grieve

And reflect on all the little things in my life that I now miss.

What happened to the world I used to know? What happened to that which made sense?

What happened to the people with brains in their heads who made this world so great to live in?

What was it that drove them away and with them, the wisdom they’d dispense

Unto all of us with fragile nerves all so that we wouldn’t give in?

I’ll tell you what happened to them: Every last one of them’s dead.

They’ve crossed the river like the mortals they were and have left us to fend for ourselves

Against the wretches we’ve got now, their shrill voices screaming in our heads

So loudly that we’re all forced to reach for the books we’ve got on our shelves

To remind us all of the lessons of old that have helped us keep our wits

In a world where idiocy never sleeps and only gets worse by the year

And every dastardly moron carries on feeding us his or her bit,

Thus further burying us in our pages to read messages like this one here:

Messages that tell us to never give up in the face of adversity,

To carry on fighting for what we know is true and pure and right

And never surrender even when faced with the worst of absurdity

That threatens to rot our brains ‘til we make like banshees screaming into the night.

They’ve already claimed so many other minds that it’s no longer funny—

Not that it ever was to begin with, but you all know what I mean.

No longer is it about talent or wisdom or even courage…just money,

And I know I’m not the only one who’s sick and tired of this scene.

Guess what, then, folks: There’s only one thing left for all of us to do;

We’ve got to screw in our heels and put the imbeciles in their place.

We’ve got to show them that that their days are numbered—if not, in fact, through—

And no more will their arrogance and ignorance further disgrace

This Hell-sent world we’ve come to know that they’ve forged with their hands,

Which we’ve allowed them to do for far too long, left, right, and center.

It’s up to us, then, to set things straight and help others understand

The other side of the story, so come on! Let’s all be in this together.

*****

Well, that should do it for today. I hope you all have enjoyed what I’ve just written here, and I plan on being back later in the week with another installment of my “In Relation to My Work” segment. We’ll have to see how things go on my end before I can make any promises, however, but as always, please don’t hesitate to visit my author page at Smashwords.com for current and future releases, and be sure to follow me on Twitter, too, @DustinMWeber. Until then, happy reading!

Regards,

Dustin M. Weber

2 thoughts on “Bonus Poem of the Week: A Call to Action

Leave a Reply

