Poem of the Week: The Swing of Things

Welcome back, readers!

Well, it’s that time of the week again, and this time around, I’m going to share with you a poem that should be more or less self-explanatory based on its title alone. Not only that, but it’s in the form of one of the several poetry styles that I used to be a master of back in the day, as anyone who has already chanced to read The Sun Shan’t Set on Me! Poems from My Younger Days (Ages 16 to 23) can freely tell you. This particular poetry structure, the Shakespearean sonnet, is one that I learned during my junior year in high school on account of my class’s study of the works of the time-honored Bard of Avon himself, William Shakespeare. Consider this piece a bit of a personal morale booster, if you will, for now that I am trying to finish up my third official novel, I really need to motivate myself any which way I can to get the job done. Therefore, without further ado, enjoy!

***** 

The Swing of Things

June 7, 2012

 

I’m trying to get back into the swing of things,

Trying to craft my future while in the present;

No more time for parties or other happenings,

For I must closely watch how each minute is spent

Of my time as I try to forge my destiny

With pencil and paper, my choice tools of the trade,

And with them craft worlds for ev’rybody to see

Within which many an adventure will be made—

Many a mystery waiting to unravel,

Many a fantasy waiting to be fulfilled,

Many an avenue waiting to be travelled,

And all to manifest because I have the will

To make the most out of the gifts Fate’s given me

And be the best fit for my niche that I can be.

*****

And there you have it, folks—yet another “Poem of the Week” by yours truly! Please don’t be shy about leaving me some feedback in the comments section for this particular composition, as I’d really like to start up some interaction with you folks regarding my work, particularly from my subscribers. Also, please come back for my next post where I plan to hype you all up for my next upcoming novel, UWWX: The Underground Women’s Wrestling Xperiment, by sharing with you some thoughts I’ve had not too long ago in relation to women’s professional wrestling aside from those I’ve shared with you in my post from May 30.

Aside from that, thank you all for coming on back and keeping up with me, and as always, don’t be a stranger; see what I’m up to at my author page at Smashwords.com, and keep your eyes open for any and all upcoming works of mine. Until next time, then, happy reading!

Regards,

Dustin M. Weber

One thought on “Poem of the Week: The Swing of Things

  1. CORRECTION: Actually, folks, I’d like to apologize for this much belated realization, but Shakespearean sonnets have TEN syllables per line whereas this particular poem has TWELVE. Therefore, again, my apologies–especially to Mr. Shakespeare and all his fans–for misrepresenting his work in such a careless fashion. Thanks to all in the meantime who have “liked” this poem, but I promise you all regardless that the next time I post a sonnet on this blog, it truly WILL be Shakespearean so as to credit the Bard of Avon and not distort his contributions to the literary world.

    Thank you all for your understanding.

Leave a Reply

