Now Available at Amazon.com: The Sun Shan’t Set on Me! Poems from My Younger Days (Ages 16 to 23) by Dustin M. Weber

The Sun Shan’t Set on Me! Poems from My Younger Days (Ages 16 to 23) by Dustin M. Weber:
Now available at Amazon.com!

Welcome back, readers!

Yep…I’ve decided to change up my usual greeting for this blog entry, and why not? After all, I’ve changed up my usual background to include the covers of the three books I have out on the market at the moment as well as the header to an image of my name, so why not mix things up in respect to welcoming you guys? “Variety is the spice of life,” as the old saying goes, and after I finally took the hint to change things up here, that old anecdote has been proving itself true, as I’ve been receiving more traffic on this blog and—in conjunction with that—more feedback from you guys, which I truly appreciate. Just check out my blog entry from the day before yesterday to see for yourself.

Now Available at Amazon.com: Kyle Summers, Booker by Dustin M. Weber

Speaking of Amazon.com, I’ve got some more good news for Amazon shoppers: My first official poetry anthology has now been added to their kindle store. That’s right! Now Amazon customers can purchase The Sun Shan’t Set on Me! Poems from My Younger Days (Ages 16 to 23) for their Amazon Kindle. Check out the link below for more information. 

The Sun Shan’t Set on Me! Poems from My Younger Days (Ages 16 to 23) at Amazon.com

Of course, if what you just saw at the link above wasn’t enough to whet your appetite, you can always check out the three sample poems I had published here on April 28 when I first talked about this book. Just click on this link to read them all for yourselves.

Now Available at Smashwords.com: The Sun Shan’t Set on Me! Poems from My Younger Days (Ages 16 to 23) by Dustin M. Weber

Hopefully, the three poems you’ve just read in the blog post mentioned above have given you enough of an idea of the variety you can expect from this anthology. However, I think it’s only fair to share one more poem from amongst the seventy-three that I’ve included in this compilation to promote it even further. Any more than that, and I’d end up defeating the purpose of having the book available for sale in the first place. Therefore, without further ado, here’s one of the numerous love poems you can expect to find in this book. Please enjoy! 

Ballad for a Young Bride-to-Be

8/1/03

 

So you’re getting married, as all your friends say.

I wish I could congratulate you in some way.

Then again, the news simply crushes my heart so

And fills me up with dread and woe.

It’s difficult for me to tell you just why

The tidings of your marriage make me want to cry

And jealously eye the very man whom

You shall stand beside and call your groom,

Later to share with him the rest of your life

As you strive to become the perfect wife.

 

Perhaps my paranoia makes me suspect

That he shan’t treat you with the dignity and respect

That you truly deserve for granting him your love

As witnessed by family and the powers above.

I can only imagine—be I right or wrong—

The numerous crimes that he might

Execute upon you out of little else but spite,

Such as sneaking off into the depths of the night

To indulge with his friends in the delights of drink

While you stand in the kitchen with your hands in the sink,

Washing dishes from the supper that he never ate,

Even though his favorite foods had adorned his plate.

 

Another way he might betray your trust

Is by succumbing to feelings of lust,

Searching for sensation through carnal deeds

And sowing within each mistress his seeds.

Seeking pleasure for the moment, then forever be gone,

He shall live his life while they must bear his spawn.

 

Worse yet—suppose he lets his temper run wild,

Throwing tantrums at you like an ill-mannered child,

Swinging his fists at both you and your kids

As you whimper and wonder as to what you did

To suffer such injustice from the raging hands

Of whom you once though to be a strong, caring man.

 

As faulty and flighty as my logic seems,

Such are the thoughts that plague my dreams

And influence me to worry for your sake

Following this choice that you still plan to make.

Nevertheless, if you are content

With your decision, then I shan’t further vent

And shall instead wish you luck with all my soul

As you exit the chapel as the wedding bells toll.

 

Well, that should do it in terms of putting this book over, and I do hope that after reading this last poem, you folks will be inspired to download a copy of The Sun Shan’t Set on Me! for your Kindles and share the remainder of its seventy-three poems with your friends and family. If you don’t own a Kindle e-reader from Amazon.com, you can always click here to purchase one from them or even click here for a free Kindle reading app, should you not be in the market for the device itself. My first two novels are available at Amazon as well, as I’ve mentioned both yesterday and the day before on this blog, and for those of you who are still curious about whether I’ll stay true to my word and finish the novel I’d brought up here on May 30, don’t worry…I will keep that promise. In fact, the day I finally finish the doggone thing, I promise to upload the cover and give you all a teaser chapter to give you a taste of what to expect from that particular novel.

At any rate, though, thank you all for catching up with me yet again, and please, don’t be a stranger; rate, comment, subscribe, and stop by any of the online shops I’ve mentioned on this site to download a copy of any of my three works. Until next time, though, take care, happy reading, and come on back tomorrow for the first official “Poem of the Week” for Summer 2012!

Regards,

Dustin M. Weber

2 thoughts on “Now Available at Amazon.com: The Sun Shan’t Set on Me! Poems from My Younger Days (Ages 16 to 23) by Dustin M. Weber

    • Thanks! Feel free to spread the word about my other two books as well. Who knows? Someone out there just might be interested in them. 😉

      Oh, and before I forget, I’ll let you know just when I’m finally done with my newest book as well. Until next time, then, take care, and thanks for always being a fan!

Leave a Reply

